Mayflower Serendipity Part 3

Mayflower Serendipity Part 3

I decided to do a synopsis instead of several longer post in my research process. My process is the same as I posted in Part 2 for the challenges. Why repeat what I have already stated for each person. My advice is for you to “Stay the Course” when you are researching you ancestors. Answer one question at a time. If you see something of interest for another question, put it in your “To Do” list with links and a brief note. Go back to the list when you are answering that ancestor’s question.

You my read Mayflower Serendipity Part 1 click here.

You may read Serendipity Part 2 click here.

 

This blog is all about that Genealogy Happy Dance we do. I’m sure you will feel the emotions I felt when you read this blog. I still get chills, even now, while I’m typing this post.

My second post provided you with my step by step approach to Familysearch.org Catalog search. That was the approach I used for the other ancestors I was searching. Elijah and Isaiah Pease still remained a challenge until…

Serendipity walked in the door. Maybe I should say, arrived via an Ancestry Message.

I received a message from a “cousin” line asking:

Cousin: “Is it possible Elijah was the parent of his Joseph?”

Me: “It is possible. He and Mary had 13 children, according to the History of Industry Maine. I haven’t found supporting documents to all those children.”

Cousin:  I have access to a Family Bible that listed Elijah as Joseph’s father, along with Elijah’s death.”

Me: “Are you willing to share the page.”

Cousin: Sent 6 pages with the Provence how the Bible was passed to each generation with the appropriate dates.

Now you know why the series is called Mayflower Serendipity. If it wasn’t for the Bible pages, I wouldn’t have known when Elijah or Mary died with supportive documentation.

 

I’m not sharing the Bible pages for Public Use. When my Mayflower Lineage Application is accepted. I will share that. Those who are descendants of Elijah Pease and Mary “Polly” Collins will have the opportunity to document your line from them.

 

I can with confidence state that Elijah Pease:

  1. born on Martha’s Vineyard in 1778 to Joseph Pease and Sarah Smith. Supported by Joseph Probate Will Records. Accessed via Ancestry.com for Joseph Pease. [No birth record found to date.]
  2. He married Polly Collins, 11 Apr 1805, Farmington, Franklin, Maine, Maine Marriage records, 1771-1907
  3. That I found supporting documents for 6 of the 13 children listed in the History of Industry Maine.
  4. That he resided in Farmington, Maine; New Sharon, Maine, Lexington, Maine on United States Census Records for New Sharon, marriage record for Farmington and, and Lexington per Industry History and Family Bible.
  5. Elijah Pease died within days of falling in a fire at Gilman Pond, Lexington, Maine, on 16 May 1823. Family Bible
  6. Mary, his wife, died 20 Mar 1833 in Lexington, Maine. Family Bible
  7. Family Bible page

    I will do a separate blog for Isaiah Pease and the challenges I met for him and his wife Abigail A. Bennet. It will be the last of this series. It may not pack the punch that this one does. It will show how I supported my conclusions of his connection to Elijah and Mary.

     

    I hope you are enjoying this series.

    Happy Family Researching.

     

    Sources:

    1. Maine, Wills and probate Records, 1584-1999, com. Maine, Wills and Probate Records, 1584-1999[database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations, Inc., 2015. Original data: Maine County, District and Probate Courts. For Joseph Pease, https://www.ancestry.com/interactive/8994/005429518_00365/1743118?backurl=https://www.ancestry.com/family-tree/person/tree/86776289/person/48543206052/facts/citation/1040367141463/edit/record , last accessed 22 Apr 2018
    2. “Maine Marriages, 1771-1907,” database, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:F46F-N83 : 10 February 2018), Elijah Pease and Polly Collins, 11 Apr 1805; citing Farmington, Franklin, Maine, reference Vol 1 pg 39; FHL microfilm 10,865.
    3. A History of the town of Industry, Franklin County, Maine from the earliest settlement in 1787 down to present time, William Collins hatch, 1893 Press of knowlton, mcLeary & Co., Farmington, Maine, libray of congress americana collection, https://archive.org/details/historyoftownofi00hatc, last accessed 6 Apr 2018 p. 555 Genealogical Notes
    4. 1810 United States Census New Sharon, Kennebec, Maine for Elijah Pease, com. 1810 United States Federal Census[database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations, Inc., 2010. Images reproduced by FamilySearch.
      Original data: Third Census of the United States, 1810. (NARA microfilm publication M252, 71 rolls). Bureau of the Census, Record Group 29. National Archives, Washington, D.C.
    5. 1820 United States Census New Sharon, Kennebec, Maine for Elijah Pease, com. 1820 United States Federal Census[database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations, Inc., 2010. Images reproduced by FamilySearch.
      Original data: Fourth Census of the United States, 1820. (NARA microfilm publication M33, 142 rolls). Records of the Bureau of the Census, Record Group 29. National Archives, Washington, D.C.
    6. Family Bible, Private Name, Private, ancestry message, E-ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE to June Butka Ancestry message, 2018 Apr 4, Elijah Pease and wife Mary, privately held by June Stearns Butka, E-ADRESS & STREET ADRESS FOR PRIVATE USE Merrimack, New Hampshire.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.