Chase Ancestors: Clara Jane Chase

#365daysofJuneday73

I would like to introduce you to my Chase Ancestors, starting with my great grandmother, Clara Jane Chase.

Information enclose in the [ ]’s are from record documents that I found. The other information was gathered from shared stories by my Aunt Carrie; my mother, Shilrey B. Pease Stearns; my father, Nelson W. Stearns and an occasional comment from my Uncle Wilson, John Wilson Perkins.

ChaseClara Jane RootsMagic file

I first heard about my great grandmother from my great Aunt Carrie, [Lulu Carrie Stearns Perkins,] while we played cards during my summer visits. I was told that when Clara and my grandfather, William Frank Nelson, [divorced 5 Dec 1904 , for treatment injuring health,] she rarely visited the family. Her daughter, Lillian May, age 8 and son, Ray Breton, age 7 remained with their father. She married her second husband, Shirley W. Frazier [21 Jun 1905,]  the same year her father, [Alonzo Chase] died.

Clara and her second husband lived in Hopkinton, New Hampshire. [According to the 1910 US Census on Ancestry as boarders in the household of Ziba S. Woods. She worked as a waiter on tables in the local hotel.] Her husband, Shirley, died in 1911. She married Fred [Shaw] in 1912 [4 Sep.]

Clara and Fred moved to Newbury, New Hampshire. It wasn’t until after my great grandfather, William aka Frank, died grandchildren arrived, that the visiting started, usually everyone went to Newbury, not Clara visiting Sutton. [My parents told me that they brought me to visit her when I was born. Clara died when I was still an infant.]

I do not have any photographs of Clara to share. I’m hoping some one who reads this post may have some photographs to share with me.

Here are the facts behind the story of Clara Jane Chase-Nelson-Frazier-Shaw. Documentation available upon request.

Born: 2 Jun 1875 in Warner, New Hampshire to Alonzo and Kate Elizabeth Colby-Chase.

Marriage 1: 8 May 1894, Bradford, New Hampshire, William Frank Nelson

Residence: Sutton New Hampshire 1894-1904

Divorced: 5 Dec 1904, William Frank Nelson

Marriage 2: 21 Jun 1905, Hillsborough, New Hampshire, Shirley Frazier. He died 20 Oct 1911

Residence: Hopkinton, New Hampshire 1905-1911

Marriage 3: 4 Sep 1912, Bradford, New Hampshire, Fred Shaw. He died 6 Jan 1939

Residence: Newbury, New Hampshire 1912-1955

Death: 3 Sep 1955, Newbury, New Hampshire.

Burial: Lakeside Cemetery, Newbury, New Hampshire

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

