Guess Who is on Brain Rest Precautions, Again: Day 2

#365daysofjuneday49

I’m feeling more like myself today. Most of the symptoms have resided. I still have a mild headache, nausea and fatigue. My thoughts are a little clearer

Concussion is usually self-diagnosable. I did call my doctor and we decided I know when to go to the emergency room. I know what to do, just rest and follow the instructions I posted in yesterday’s blog post.

Symptoms may include headache, confusion, and lack of coordination, memory loss, nausea, vomiting, and dizziness, ringing in the ears, sleepiness, and excessive fatigue.

People may experience:

Headache: can be persistent or severe

Cognitive: amnesia, disorientation, or mental confusion

Whole body: blackout, fatigue, or poor balance

Gastrointestinal: nausea or vomiting

Also common: irritability, mild depression, ringing in the ears, sensitivity to light, or sleepiness

Consult a doctor for medical advice

Sources: Mayo Clinic and others. Learn more.

There’s no specific cure for concussion. Rest and restricting activities allow the brain to recover. This means one should temporarily reduce sports, video games, TV, or too much socializing. Medications for headache pain, and anti-nausea medications can be used for symptoms. I’m choosing to rest, drink ginger-ale for nausea and remember I do need to use my walker. No more denial at the loss of mobility. I accept that I need the assistance device.
On the floor sleeping
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

