Disk Clean Up Time: Out of My Comfort Zone

#365daysofjuneday45

RootsMagic export GEDCOM

Part of staying organized is making sure your computer is up-to-date, remove excess files, or as they say Data Clean. I worked only with my FTM2014 and Roots Magic Backups files for today’s exercise in clean-up. I decided to down load my very first Family Tree Backup/GEDCOM from 2012 and my RootsMagic to a DVD, download a current GEDCOM from both FTM2014 and RootsMagic to my G: drive. This verifies that my current backups are not corrupted. I watched the RootsMagic webinar #6 “Working with Files and Folders in RootsMagic” for instructions on RootsMagic. The FTM2014 worked the same way. I backed up my Legacy program also. It looks like this is the second time I backed it up, interesting. I will leave that for another days learning.

FTM2014 Export GEDCOM

The Legacy GEDCOM looks a little out of my current comfort zone. Time to learn before doing. This Bright Shiny Object ( B.S.O.), I will not follow, today.

Legacy export GEDCOM

 

After copying the backups for FTM2014 and RootsMagic to DVD and the most recent to G: drive, I deleted them from the C: drive. The most recent two backups for each were left on the C: drive. I’m not a computer whiz by any chance of the imagination. I’m happy to report that both my FTM2014 and my RootsMagic programs are working fine. Happy Dance there. It was a jump out of my comfort zone to do this on my own.

The C: drive changed from 205 GB used/26.7 GB Free to 111 GB used/121 GB Free.

C Drive used_free space 14 Feb 2016

 

I did this by watching and re-watching the webinars, stopping them mid way as needed and proceeded with success to clean up some much needed space on my C: drive without ruining either of my programs. A big step for me.

Now back to working on my first four generations checklist from Dear Myrtle’s “Finally Get Organized”. I found some great photographs and new (actually old) documents to transcribe to my Dad, Nelson William Stearns. I have made my “To-Do” list for the first four generations on both my father’s and mother’s side.

Goals:

My goal today is to transfer those photos and documents to the surname folder for each person. That will keep the link for them in one place when I upload them to my tree program. Most are scattered in different family photo folders from the year taken or obtained, in research folders both paper and digital. I will have digital copies of all files I will be adding to my family tree program.

Tomorrow’s goal is to put my FTM2014 GEDCOM into my RootsMagic program and compare what I have side by side. I will determine which program is more up-to-date, I will do the same with my Legacy GEDCOM. Once I have reviewed them against each other and work with them, I will decided what program I will use going forward.  The big question is, will I keep them all current for different reasons or go down to one program. The big down side to keeping all three is keeping them all up-to-date.

I think the bottom line will be what will be the easiest for my non-genealogy family members to use when the time comes for me to pass on the program. I will always have my Microsoft Word program up-to-date. It is where I work from before adding anything to the family tree programs.

 

Source Citations:

Richley-Erickson, Pat “Finally Get Organized,” Dear Myrtle, DearMyrtle’s Genealogy Your Friend In Genealogy since 1995 Blog, 31 Jan 2016. http://blog.dearmyrtle.com/p/finally-get-organized.html: Access 2 Feb 2016, checklists.

Leave a comment

Filed under #365daysofJune, Genealogy

Leave a Reply

