Day 36 of 365 Days of June: Thank You Genealogy Peers

#365daysofjuneday36

Indexing
Indexing: A New Batch to Start

Here are the links of my Blog Posts that I created for this project. When I review my post, it seems like my thought process is a little scattered. May it is. My goals in writing about my family history research included; my approach to research, capturing family traditions, memories and stories, getting my research organized for future generations, the importance of finding the first four generations medical history and giving back to the genealogy community. How I plan my week is divided into daily goals.

  1. Each day of the week is set aside for eight grandparents lineage [at least one new member updated daily per grandparent line.]
  2. I save Monday, Wednesday, and Fridays for Webinars and indexing [for Family Search or Find-A-Grave] in addition to the daily family additions.
  3. Some weeks I stay on track better than others. Life and family time comes first.
  4. A day of Rest usually means I complete the daily family addition, scan or organize my digital photos [1-2 hours spread out over the day.] There are some days that nothing gets done. Don’t fret about it. It will be there when you get back to it.
  5. Finally Getting Organized with DearMyrtle

Most of my work periods are set to 15 minute intervals [you can get a lot done in that time.] My blog post usually take about an hour, sometimes more if verifying information. The hardest part for me, still remains the proper citation for sources. I lean toward using the links available in my blog post saving the proper citations for my family tree program. It is an ongoing challenge and process of updating to Elizabeth Shown Mills, Evidence Explained citation format. I began my research in the mid 1970’s with the college style citations. At least I was citing my sources back then or it would be even more difficult to cite the sources now.

I hope my overview of my approach is helpful to newbies to genealogy. I know that the support of people like DearMyrtle, Cousin Russ, Thomas MacEntee, Lisa Alzo, Geoff Rasmussen, Lisa Louise Cooke, the Ancestry.com, Familysearch.org, Legacy, RootsMagic teams, my Geneablogger Peers, along with many others in the genealogy world, provided and continue to provide that support to me.

I want to give a special shout out to Heather Wilkinson Rojo  of NutfieldGenealogy  for warmly welcoming me to the Special Interest Group of Geneabloogers at my first New England Genealogy Conference  [2011] in Manchester, New Hampshire. I met so many interesting genealogy peers that night. I started my first blog about genealogy with their encouragement. I learned so much about researching on-line, citing source the genealogy way, and that I wasn’t alone in my passion of genealogy.

Thank you all for your encouragement and support over the years.

1 Jan – 31 Jan 2016

#365daysofJuneday1 Welcome 2016!
#365daysofJuneday2 Tree People, That’s Me!
#365daysofJuneday3 Sit and Chat A While
#365daysofJuneday4 Tea Is Just Not Tea
#365daysofjuneday5  The Practical Side of Family History: Part 1
​#365daysofjuneday6  The Practical Side of Family History: Part 2
​#365daysofjuneday7  Cooking Time With the Family Challenge
#365daysofjuneday8  Family Time Memories
​#365daysofjuneday9  Organized, Me? It might happen in 2016
​#365daysofjuneday10  Town or County Clerk-Oh, No!
​#365daysofjuneday11  De-cluttering = Disencumbering Your E-mails, too!
​#365daysofjuneday12  Maps = Clues to Family’s Life
​#365daysofjuneday13  It’s In The Records. So…
​#365daysofjuneday14  A Day of Rest
#365daysofjuneday15 What, She is Married?
​#365daysofjuneday16 Family Tree Done!!! Really?
​#365daysofjuneday17 K.I.S.S. Method of Genealogy-My Way!
​#365daysofjuneday18 Family and Humor
​#365daysofjuneday19 Remembering Our Pets-Tess
#365daysofjuneday20 Remembering Our Pets-Yoda
#365daysofjuneday21 Remebering Our Pets-Duchess
#365daysofjuneday22 Horsing Around can lead to…
#365daysofjuneday23 Transcribing Everything is the Key!
#365daysofjuneday24 Tess and Yoda Cuddling
#365daysofjuneday25 Pictorial of Nelson William Stearns
#365daysofjuneday26 Shooting in the Woods: He made it out alone
#365daysofjuneday27_ Snapshot of My Family Stats
#365daysofjuneday28_ From A Distance: The Challenger Remembered 30 years later
#365daysofjuneday29_Teenagers and Haunted Places
#365daysofjuneday30_Finally Getting organized with Dear Myrtle-Update
#365daysofjuneday31 Day of Rest – Sorta

1 Feb – 29 Feb 2016

#365daysofjuneday32 First Day of the Month = Backup Time
#365daysofjuneday33_Finally Getting Organized: Packing Slips and Genealogy Research
#365daysofjuneday34_Transcriptions of a Different Kind: Find-A-Grave
#365daysofjuneday35 Mother’s Binder: Finally Getting Organized

Source citations:

Richley-Erickson, Pat “Finally Get Organized,” Dear Myrtle, DearMyrtle’s Genealogy Your Friend In Genealogy since 1995 Blog, 31 Jan 2016. http://blog.dearmyrtle.com/p/finally-get-organized.html: Access 2 Feb 2016, checklists.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.