First Day of the Month = Backup time

#365daysofjuneday32

1 Feb 2016

First Day of the Month = Backup time

Special Day Calendar

Special Day Calendar

You will most likely see another posting about the importance of backing up you work. I plan my backs the first day of each month. It is a SCHEDULED day that is easy to remember.

What do I back up? Everything!!!

  1. to the cloud product of choice. icloud, Evernote, Dropbox, OneNote, I’m sure there are other cloud that you may use, like, Backblaze,  My back up of choice has been a mixture of all listed above and Google Drive.  This past year was a learning curve of what works best for me. I learned I need to K.I.S.S. , Keep It Simple and Straightforward, [you can read more about it here.]
  2. My Microsoft Word Documents, photos, and backup FTM2014 are all backed up on 2 external drives, on-line Google Docs and a Flash drive sent to my sister offsite. If I find that I have added a large amount of work I will do a weekly backup as needed.
  3. I have on-line Trees with Ancestry.com [most up-to-date], FamilySearch.org, and MyHeritage.com [soon to be up-to-date.] I have tried many other online trees; I will be keeping these three trees the most current.
  4. I’m using FTM2014 as my primary program[using FTM since 2002]. Legacy and RootsMagic are still in the learning stages. All three have pluses and minuses to each. [The three trees have a difference of 100 people between each of them. As I clean up and merge duplicates that number is shrinking. To date my FTM2014 is the most accurate numbers and ancestors.

    I’m in the process of transcribing my paper files and Microsoft Word files to my FTM2014 program including media. I will maintain original, certified documents and discard that is easily found on line.

My goal is to continue to stream line and organize my research so that both, my genealogist friends and family members with have a copy that makes sense to them. Citations with improve for my genealogy friends. Stories will entice my family to read about their ancestor’s.

My surname Binders are available for everyone to pick up and read in house. I also have created several family books and calendars for those who are not into my passion.

Family Tree Interviews

Family Tree Interviews

1 Comment

Filed under #365daysofJune, Genealogy, Writing

One response to “First Day of the Month = Backup time

  1. Pingback: Day 36 of 365 Days of June: Thank You Genealogy Peers | Dame Gussie's Genealogy Rants

Leave a Reply

