Genealogy Do-Over Halfway there: LIFE IS GOOD!!!

#Wk6GenealogyDoOverBlog

A Thomas MacEntee GeneaBlogger Community

A Thomas MacEntee GeneaBlogger Community

Genealogy Do-Over Halfway there LIFE IS GOOD!!!

Thomas MacEntee Geneabloggers

Week 1 – 2-8 January 2015

  • Setting Previous Research Aside
  • Preparing to Research
  • Establishing Base Practices and Guidelines

Week 2 – 9-15 January 2015

  • Setting Research Goals
  • Conducting Self Interview
  • Conducting Family Interviews

Week 3 – 16-22 January 2015

  • Tracking Research
  • Conducting Research

Week 4 – 23-29 January 2015

  • Managing Projects and Tasks
  • Tracking Searches

Week 5 – 30 January-5 February 2015

  • Building a Research Toolbox
  • Citing Sources

Week 6 – 6-12 February 2015

  • Evaluating Evidence
  • Reviewing Online Education Options

 

The past six weeks have been hectic. Sometimes overwhelming, sometimes sliding backwards, most time moving forward at a snail’s pace.

 

I decided to take some down time from Genealogy, not my choice. My body said “enough is enough, you need to rest.  At first I didn’t listen until I noticed I was slipping into bad habits (my old way of researching), making stupid mistakes and following those BSO’s (Bright Shinny Objects) Thomas is always talking about. I stopped, surveyed what I was doing, decided to take the time my body was insisting I have.

Four days later, my head was clearer, my body was finally able to stand and walk, I was ready to start again. At least I thought I was. Not so, my body again informed me I was not ready.

Here is my Facebook post from 13 Feb 2015, the last in several postings about my health. I only recently decided to post health related issues. I post this not for sympathy, but to let everyone know that sometimes we must listen to our body, family or loved ones when they say…

“Stop! Rest! Take time off!”

I listened. I do feel better for it. I am ready to continue on with my Do-Over with a clearer mind and more energy.

 

Remember take time out for yourself and your loved one. Your research will thank you in the end.

 

Facebook June Stearns Butka 13 Feb 2015:

 

“In 2006 I made a choice to participate in a Chemotherapy Trail after fighting with various cancers in my body since 1999 with diet and natural alternatives.

 

One of the side effects listed was tooth decay. The form of Chemo was supposed to stay in your body for up to 10 years. My dentist had agreed to be part of the trail in following my care.

 

It seems every two years I am reminded that I made the choice of

 

LIFE vs Teeth.

 

I gladly chose life.

 

It is scary that the chemo is still in my body and causing the various weaknesses and tooth decay that I have been dealing with these past few years.

 

The BRIGHT side of thing is I am still here spending time with my family and friends, learning new things daily, and kicking cancers butt.

 

So what if I have bad days where I can’t move, think clearly or participate the way I once did.

 

I CAN participate and embrace every moment that life has to offer until I make my final journey home to join my loved one who preceded me.

 

LIFE IS GOOD!!!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Genealogy, Uncategorized, Writing

Leave a Reply

