#Wk3GenealogyDoOverBlog: Out with the Old – In with the New

A Thomas MacEntee GeneaBlogger Community

A Thomas MacEntee GeneaBlogger Community

 

 

I wanted to show the way I once researched. I have posted the index cards of a self-interview from 2001 (some sections removed for privacy reasons,) an index card of my “to do” list, various Bibliography cards and a family data sheet. I still use family data sheets for family interviews. Slowly progressing to digital for all my research now.

My 2001 self interview card Front and back

2001 self interview card page 1

2001 self interview card page 1

2001 self interview card page 2

2001 self interview card page 2

 

My Research log index card

Research To Do List

Research To Do List

 

My Bibliography index cards (you can see the difference of documenting over the years)

Bibliography card

Bibliography card

Misc Stearns research Bib card

Misc Stearns research Bib card

The Haverhill Emersons Vol II Bib card

The Haverhill Emersons Vol II Bib card

 

My Family Data Sheet ( I will still use this for family interview intake)

Isaac Stearns Family Data Sheet

Isaac Stearns Family Data Sheet

 

Bye! Bye, old friends.  I’m getting ready for my new computerized version of you. Improved citations! Improved resourcing! Improved Tracking! Her I come.

This brings back the old Girl Scout song: Make New Friends

Make new friends,
but keep the old.
One is silver,
the other is gold.

See complete lyrics that were submitted by Sue Lynch   at the Girl Scout Song Book http://www.scoutsongs.cm/lyrics/makenewfriends.html

Leave a comment

Filed under Genealogy, Genealogy Do-Over, Writing

Leave a Reply

