Genealogy Organizational Challenge

Genealogy Organization is a Challenge

Old School Files

Old School Files 

My partially organized files.

 

I spent Saturday with two very organized people, Lisa Alzo and Thomas MacEntee. Their “Getting your Genealogy Groove Back” Boot Camp. It was a very information and helpful presentation.

I spent Sunday attempting to familiarize myself with some of the organizational tools they discussed. It was a mixture of “old School” and new Technology, at least new to me.

This morning I spent it organizing the old school way. My thoughts were, How can I use the new technology if I don’t have myself organized with what needs to be entered into the computer program.

In the photograph above the top bind holds my webinar folders that still need a little tweaking. They were mixed in with the folders in the lower draw. The lower draw is now organized with my family folders only. I have decided to continue my Surname way of organizing.

The major Surnames for each of my family lines include the sub-surnames by married. I organized this way as a reminder of who married into the family line and where. (To date I have 99 surnames in total, with 349 shaky leafs on Ancestry to research.)
My husband Major Surnames are:
Parental side:
Butka
Boberick
Maseowski

Maternal side:
Dula
Kotch
Liptak

Misc.: Two Unknown Surnames (one for each line) I still need to verify before adding to my list

My Major Surnames are;
Paternal side:
Chase
Fletcher
Nelson
Stearns

My Maternal side:
Downes/Downs
Hutchins
Place
Pease

Computer Files to date

DSC08777
My computer files to date

Now I’m off to organize the familiar computer technology I currently use. I will take the save items and place them into the correct family line folders in the same manner I did with the old school files. Once this is completed I can then take one old school folder and one computer folder; compare the information and enter it into the research log that I learned about during “Boot Camp.” Once I have entered all my research, I will find the gaps I have in my family tree. Those gaps will become my “To Do” List.

Yes, it is time consuming to organize these records. In the long run I will be saving time. I have already found duplicate name records with different information in them. I will be able to grab the correct file, find the information I’m looking for without hunting and pecking throughout my paperwork or computer. I will set up my Research Log by major surnames: Consistency, Organization and staying with what is familiar will be my organization tools from now on.

Thank you Lisa Alzo at http://www.lisaalzo.com/ and Thomas MacEntee of Hack Genealogyhttp://hackgenealogy.com/ for all the little tidbits of information on how to organize.

Bye for now. I’m off to organize and get ready to Post my next #52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks blog about Arthur W. Place, my great grandfather, one of my great grandmother, Tina May Hutchins, four husbands.

4 Comments

Filed under Boberick Surname, Butka Surname, Chase Surname, Dula Surname, Fletcher Surname, Genealogy, Kotch Surname, Liptak Surname, Maseowski Surname, Nelson Family Tree, Nelson Surname, Pease Surname, Photography, Stearns Surname, Uncategorized, Vignettes Of Life

4 responses to “Genealogy Organizational Challenge

  1. Organizing by surname works best for me, too. My personal family files are all in old-school folders. I appreciated seeing how you file them in new-school technology. Thank you for a road map to a job I’ve yet to do!

    Like

    • Your Welcome this is just my way of organizing. I’m still learning what works best for me. Many others have different programs and organization tools that I not sure I’m ready for. Dear Myrtle You tube, Legacy Family Tree Webinars amd several Facebook groups offer other ideas.

      Like

  2. Good for you! I need to spend some time getting my files organized and scanned. I’ve got photocopies lying around just waiting for me to take care of them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

