City Upon the Hill

I have been working on my novel. It is a historical subjective view of the arrival of Isaac Stearns and his family to the Massachusetts Bay Colony in 1630. 

The working title is “City Upon the Hill” based on the sermon given by Govoner John Winthrop aboard the Arbella just before its arrival in the Bay.

All eyes will be on the little band of 700 colonist of the Winthrop Fleet. I will be posting weekly updates of my novel editing progress. 

My writer’s support network suggested several books that would aid in my editing. My current reads were Caleb’s Crossing by Geraldine Brooks, The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle by AVI and The Winthrop Woman by Anya Seton. I found the last book when placing my library request for the other two books.

Caleb’s Crossing is fifteen years after the time frame I am writing about. It did help confirm the social interaction of the natives and the colonist. I would suggest that anyone that would like to learn about the early settling of Martha Vineyard should read this book. A struggle with one’s beliefs, settling in a strange primitive land and family interactions give a good insight in how our ancestors struggle to bring this nation alive.

The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle is a great read for anyone who likes mystery and murder with there history. I found it useful in comparing the ships workings with that of the Arbella.

The Winthrop Woman is a book that I will order for my bookshelf. I gives a great insight into the personal working of the Winthrop family on both side of the Atlantic. I think this book will help me give my characters some depth that I didn’t see in my second read of my novel. 

I will be starting my third edit shortly. I hope to give more descriptions of my characters physical, emotions or lack there of if necessary. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

