Hatevil Nutter Note

While researching the Stearns ancetsry I found a note among the pages of “Genealogy and Family History of the State of New Hampshire” compiled by Erza S Stearns in 1901, Volume I page 386-387. I found no link to the Stearns line on those pages. My interest was peaked, so I decided to google the name.  Below are the links to two sites. I posted the following note on the second site.

[I came to this site today, because I found a note from a Nutter descendant. It lists descendants as Thomas Roberts-John Dam- John Hall- Hatevil Nutter. It told the story about the town’s approval for a saw mill in 1647 on Capmton River. It also stated that it was an early history of the family given to her long ago by an Aunt Mary. The book I found it in was one of the volumes of the “Genealogy and Family History of the State of New Hampshire” compiled by Erza S Stearns in 1901.]

It is interesting to see both sides of the story. What is the old saying “There are three sides of the truth: his, yours and the truth will be found somewhere in the middle.”

I’m not going to write about what I found on those sites, other than to say it shows the mood of the era. Religious persecution is still in the fore front of our lives today as it was then. Remember to walk a mile in his/her moccasins before making any judgment.

http://www.dover.lib.nh.us/doverhistory/whippingofthequakerwomen.htm

 http://thompsongenealogy.com/2011/04/hatevil-nutter-was-a-cruel-religious-hypocrite/

Leave a comment

Filed under Genealogy, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

