Scrapple Mom’s Way

Today I listened to Mondays with Mryt. Part of the discussion was about traditions. “Cousin Russ” mentioned having Scrapple at the holidays. In honor of my Mom and “Cousin Russ,” no relation to me that I have found yet; I decided to make my mom’s Version of Scrapple.

In a Baker’s dozen household, nothing goes to waste; that goes for the bits and pieces of meats not used in other recipes. When you Google Scrapple recipes, you find almost all are traditionally made from pork and pork bits. In our household growing up scrapple was made from whatever was leftover, the Scraps.

The recipe I made today was adapted by my mother Shirley Beatrice Pease Stearns. She was a woman before her time, creating recipes that hid what no one wants to eat; hearts, gizzards, neck meats, etc. If they weren’t used to make the broth for future meals they were thrown into the grinder with the leftover meat or poultry combined with cornmeal and sweetened condensed milk and a touch of ground pepper. Bake in a loaf pan at 350 degrees for approximately 20-25 minutes. We would have it slightly warm dipped in homemade maple syrup or bees honey.

 

Turkey Scrapple

Turkey Scrapple

 

 

5 cups ground turkey                                        1 (14 oz) can sweetened condensed milk

1 cup cornmeal                         OR                   1 box mix of cornbread muffin mix

A pinch of ground black pepper

 

Combine all ingredients together. Pour into a loaf pan. Bake 25-30 minute in a 350 degree oven. A Wooden toothpick should come out clean when it is done.

 Serve warm with butter, maple syrup, honey or just a sprinkle of brown sugar.

Ground Turkey

Ground Turkey

Ground turkey, cornmeal, pepper and sweetened condensed milk mixture

Ground turkey, cornmeal, pepper and sweetened condensed milk mixture

 

Ready to bake

Ready to bake

 

 

Mom did make the traditional Scrapple recipe that looked like meatloaf instead of cornbread, but most of the children didn’t like it until she made it into a cornbread style. We would eat whatever was put in front of us even if we didn’t like it.

 

A Post Thanksgiving leftover post just for you; I also made homemade Turkey Pot Pie and Turkey Broth Ice Cubes. The ice cubes are used for future recipes calling for broth. Four ice cubes equals one cup of broth.

 

Turkey Pot Pie is made with diced or shredded turkey, whatever vegetables were leftover mixed with a 1 cup broth, 1/3 cup flour, pepper to taste into a paste form, pored over the turkey and vegetables; covered with a pie crust homemade or store purchased your choice; Baked at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

 

The broth is made with the turkey bones, celery, onions,  ground pepper; simmered until the meat bits fall off the bone; strain the broth and chill in a 9×9 pan; Scrim off extra fat (the white on top). Heat the jelled broth, pour into ice cube trays and freeze for future use.

Turkey Pot Pie

Turkey Pot Pie

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Uncategorized, Vignettes Of Life

2 responses to “Scrapple Mom’s Way

  1. June,

    Looks yummy, but it tastes even better.

    Back “in the day” Strodes Sauage and Scrapple was know from West Chester, PA to Philadelphia and beyond.

    I had forgotten your toppings, but I now have “over easy” eggs with the scrapple.

    I’ll have to look to see if my mother had any receipts in her files.

    Enjoy.

    Russ
    “Cousin Russ” that is

    • I have my mothers traditional recipes for that and homemade mincemeat made with venison. I remember the days she and I would “carve” and grind the meats; be it the venison Dad brought home or the cow we traded stud fees for. Dad had breeding horses. My sister and her family are the ones breeding horse now. I love the memories. I forget that as a child I dreaded the task; as an adult I cherish those times one on one with my mother. It built a special bond that none of my sisters shared with her.

Leave a Reply

